Alternatives To Digg & Del.icio.us (No, Technorati Isn’t One Of Them)

Google Operating System posted this earlier this week about yet another aggregator called Readburner, which simply tallies up what’s most shared on Google Reader, and publishes them on it’s website. I’ve already subscribed to the feed, and so far, I like what I’m getting.

If Digg and Del.icio.us are a little to complicated and/or daunting for you (as I must admit, Del.icio.us still is for me), then this will probably be perfect.

And no, you can probably skip Technorati entirely, because not only it is really chaotic to navigate, but according to Steve Rubel at Micro Persuasion, 99% of pings on Technorati are spam. Observing the amount of spam pingbacks I’ve been getting on this very tiny blog alone, I’m inclined to agree. This, coupled with the fact that Technorati’s layout needs some serious work, definitely would suggest that you give it a miss, at least for now. There are other, easier ways to get into the whole social media scene, for observer and participant alike.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Alternatives To Digg & Del.icio.us (No, Technorati Isn’t One Of Them)”

  1. Mike Reynolds Says:

    Hi Daryl. Great post. I’ve been using ReadBurner for a few weeks and really like it. Alexander has created a great site in a short time. I’ve given up on Digg because I don’t find it relevant at all.

Leave a Reply

