10 Relationships vs 5 Million Impressions? (And a Scrabulous Jingle)

Jaffe Juice #102 was released with perfect timing, on a day that I had lots of driving around to do. The beginning, a Scrabulous introduction is hilarious and well worth listening to, though of course, not the only thing you should listen to.

Early in the podcast, there’s a conversation about whether you would prefer 10 good relationships or 5 million impressions. Just one person in a room full of professionals voted for 10 good relationships. Perhaps some reason can be attributed to the fact that the numbers really are very far apart, and I suppose even for someone who wants to go down the relationship path, it might be hard explaining why you’d want to spend so much money on 10 relationships vs 5 million impressions, especially to a boss who’s well stuck in old marketing.

That said, I’m actually pretty curious about what number it would have to be before people start agreeing with 10 relationships. 3 million? 1 million? I was thinking to myself the other day that I wish I had done my Advertising module later, because I know so much more about new media and new marketing now than I did 4 months ago, and I have no doubt the new ways can be equally if not more effective. However, I’m reminded that unfortunately, the client and to some extent the professor, still graded very much on old marketing, which is sad.

What could be a worse situation than having the knowledge of how to make things better, but have people around you who don’t realise or recognise it?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “10 Relationships vs 5 Million Impressions? (And a Scrabulous Jingle)”

  1. Ariah Fine Says:

    speaking of Scrabulous, check out this hilarious video to the Scrabulous Song:

  2. amsiewong Says:

    Gosh that sounds so depressing. I am enjoying my advertising module this term, but perhaps I should stay in tune with some ‘old’ marketing beliefs, although I do not totally agree with it.

    Let’s take blogging for example. My friends see my passion when I talk about it but most do not believe of the positive effects it can have in the corporate world. Most think its too new and the old will never pass away.

    sigh.

  3. the fiancee Says:

    i’m assuming you’re talking about relationships versus impressions in the business context right? because try as i may, i cannot understand why people would choose 5 million over 10 people.

    even in the business context, i believe 10 good relationships can through word of mouth bring about more good relationships which over time, may not hit 5 million but still achieve a significant amount?

  4. Daryl Tay Says:

    @amsie: yeah that’s the thing! it’s probably gonna be an uphill battle for the foreseeable future. unfortunately

    @fiancee: yup impressions as in “buy a $2m ad during the superbowl which will reach 20m ppl, none of which will remember my ad”. and yup, the belief is that with 10 passionate advocates, it’ll slowly generate a small (but loyal) following.

  5. Relationships vs Impressions (Re: Snapfish) And A Little Bit Of Metrics « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] (Re: Snapfish) And A Little Bit Of Metrics Interactions with Snapfish got me thinking about relationships vs impressions […]

Leave a Reply

