Twitter Recap Of Yahoo! Firing

Yahoo! laid off some workers earlier this week and one employee gave a step-by-step account of his ordeal via Twitter. Some of his posts:

Y! layoffs today, I’m “impacted”. I’m heading into work to pack my desk, get my severance paperwork and hand in my badge…more to come. about 10 hours ago

On the plus side, my commute just got a lot shorter. about 10 hours ago.

Walking around saying good bye to some great people and good friends. about 9 hours ago

Waiting for the call from HR so I can go pick up my paperwork….C’mon, c’mon! I’m busy here! Let’s get this over with. about 8 hours ago

Thanks to everyone sending the positive tweets. I’ve got plenty of free time now so just let me know if you want to meet up for lunch. about 8 hours ago

I first read about the whole story over at Jaffe Juice, head over there to read the rest of the tweets.

While undoubtedly it’s a sad instance in which Twitter was used, I can’t help but wonder if this really does help portray how useful Twitter can be in certain settings. What would we have heard if a someone two buildings away from the Twin Towers was on Twitter on 9/11? There’s still decent amount of debate online whether or not Twitter is useful. I’d love to hear what you think. Largely useful? Somewhat useful? Not useful? Don’t know? Give me a shout.

On the upside, I noticed that my Twitter 201 coverage got almost double the views than of the Twitter100 series. I really hope that that’s benefited you and helped you use Twitter a little better. New articles on Twitter are coming up literally every half a day, but I’m going to move on from covering those stories unless it’s something original that I come up with. If you want to follow me on Twitter, my username is uniquefrequency.

I’ve been playing around with both AssetBar and LinkRiver for about two hours today and I’m beginning to get a pretty good feel of them. I’ll probably be directing some attention to them this week.

Both creators were kind enough to post responses to my posts on them, and I really think you should check them out. They’re both not as fun without people on them, because they’re meant to be social! So far I only have Louisgray for company. If you do sign up, add me as a friend: uniquefrequency

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Twitter Recap Of Yahoo! Firing”

  1. assetbar Says:

    ah hey, you have me as an (auto) friend on Assetbar… 🙂

    -Israel

  2. the fiancee Says:

    well, ever since i got on truemors, twitter’s been REALLY interesting. at the very least it’s useful for picking up bits of general knowledge. ;p

  3. Louis Gray Says:

    Daryl, one thing you can do is “Browse Users” on AssetBar and find new contacts. You can also cheat by going to my profile and find new folks.

  4. Daryl Tay Says:

    @assetbar: thanks! I’ve subscribed to your RSS too!

    @Louis: I really like that feature and I found Mike Reynolds from there! By the way you beat me to the post about listening to users, but I will post a follow-up!

Leave a Reply

