Adventures In Social Media #1

One thing I really enjoy about Web2.0 is how you can meet and connect with people so easily, even when you don’t have any intention to.

Case in point? Adventure #1.

I was driving home listening to Six Pixels Of Separation #89, when I heard a distinctively Singaporean accent in an audio comment on Apple. So I got home, checked out the show notes and got to Sui Generis, Derrick Kwa’s website.

A little probing around later, I realised that I should get into direct contact with Derrick because he’s an Arsenal fan, clearly has a thing for marketing and new media and even has a post on the same JJ Abrams video at TED that I posted about awhile back.

In short, as mentioned so many times in social media discussions, Derrick is an example of “people like me”.

As a result Derrick is now on my MSN, we’re mutual friends on Twitter, and followers of each others’ blogs.

Now, this whole story has a point. I’m not trying to tell you about the serendipity of Web2.0 and that you’re going to find a soul mate online.

What I am saying is that the internet has so many people interested in so many things (literally anything) and you can very simply reach into that Long Tail, find your niche and find one person or a handful or many people who are just like you and share your common interests and/or passions.

So now you know this, what’re you going to do about it? Or do you already have similar stories to share? I want to hear from you!

Adventures in Social Media #2 will be coming next week, with some implications for this blog. Keep reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Adventures In Social Media #1”

  1. Mitch Joel - Twist Image Says:

    I love these Six Pixels of Separation stories. Nothing fascinates me more than being able to connect two people who live in Singapore… all the way from Montreal ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I don’t think stories like this should be diminished.

    Thanks for pointing it out and I’d love for the three of us to connect at some point.

  2. bodytreats Says:

    I bet each of us experienced a little long tail through our wiki project. Gosh, tell me about finding the niche, tough tough tough. But really, snowballing and networking (with a little bit of thick skin) does help roll into the end of the long tail too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Derrick Kwa Says:

    Thanks for pointing me out. I’m loving how these social media tools can connect people as well. =). It’s great being able to interact with all you guys, people who I would never have the chance to talk to otherwise.

    And Mitch, I’d be honored for the three of us to connect at some point.

  4. Daryl Tay Says:

    Mitch & Derrick,

    Yes stories like this shouldn’t be diminished! I’m sure many people have encountered similar experiences. Would be nice to discover more of them.

    Yes it would be great to connect sometime! Perhaps at another PodCamp Singapore, Mitch? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Adventures In Social Media #2 « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] In Social Media #2 Last week I posted adventures in social media #1 with Derrick Kwa, and this week I’m moving on to #2 Shi Heng Cheong with aka TIMM Guru […]

  6. Adventures In Social Media #3 « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] you enjoyed this article, why not check out #2 (Shi Heng Cheong) and #1 (Derrick Kwa). Also if you liked it, do go to ping.sg and pong […]

  7. 29th March 2008: Social Media Breakfast: Singapore « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] is a little experiment that Derrick Kwa (from Adventures in Social Media #1) thought of doing, and was generous enough to invite me along for the ride. The objective of the […]

Leave a Reply

