My First Online Advertising Experience (As A Consumer)

I read an article recently regarding online advertising in Singapore & Malaysia. Apparently Google Adwords doesn’t do very well here because us Asians don’t do much click-through (ie clicking on an ad), so advertisers rather use CPM or impression based advertising on websites and blogs.

I broke the trend today and clicked on Snapfish today from a Facebook ad. They were promoting a $0.09/4R photo printout that I thought I’d try it out.

The thing that Snapfish did right is they targeted me as a consumer. (Not me personally, but people like me). I own a DSLR, take a hell lot of photos and paste them all over Facebook and Flickr.

After getting 10 free prints for signing up, I arranged to print 17 pictures for a total of $2.63, of that $1.90 is a shipping fee (probably the same amount to travel and park to and from the developing shop).

Let’s see if this works out well, will blog an update once I get the printouts in the mail. I’m really hoping it will be a success story because it’ll be great to blog about a local company that “gets” social media and online advertising.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “My First Online Advertising Experience (As A Consumer)”

  1. Claudia Says:

    I used to have 25 free prints but never really got the time to sit and upload the photos for print! Heard the quality is not bad.

  2. Daryl Tay Says:

    @Claudia: What? What a waste! I’ll update you on the quality!

  3. Snapfish Report « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] So I blogged about the first time I actually clicked on an ad on Facebook (or anywhere for that matter) for Snapfish. I placed my order Monday night and got the prints […]

  4. Quick Thoughts On The IDC Panel Discussion, And I Want Yours Too. « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] had the great fortune of meeting two brilliant people from HP who I could share my huge enthusiasm for Snapfish with as well as talk about the HP Mini-Note a little bit. Very smart […]

Leave a Reply

