Do You Miss Chat? Facebook May Have The Answer.

Brian Solis over at bub.blicio.us (who is one of my new March subscriptions) posted an article on Facebook adding a new chat feature, with a link to the Facebook blog telling users about the new feature.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to be available on my Facebook yet, perhaps they’re starting with North America. Nonetheless, I’m excited to start using it.

My first reaction: great! I already think Twitter is so powerful because it almost emulates that “water cooler” or “chatroom” function that the internet used to have (I do miss the chat rooms because MSN is usually just one-to-one) and Ping.sg, a community-focused aggregator already has a chat function on the page as well. It’s almost like we’ve come full circle back to the era of chat.

The second reaction: I’m assuming that you have to remain logged in on Facebook to use the chat and see who’s online. This leads to longer time on the Facebook site, presumably more exposure to the increasing number of Facebook ads, and a way to combat Facebook Fatigue?

What do you think?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Do You Miss Chat? Facebook May Have The Answer.”

  1. Eric Berlin Says:

    I think the water cooler factor that you mention is right on and very powerful. I play with social networking sites all day, and to me Twitter is more immediate, more accessible, and more compelling than almost all of them.

  2. Daryl Tay Says:

    Eric, thanks for dropping by! I’m feeling the same way. In fact I realise my time spent on other social media tools (ie Facebook, Friendfeed) has declined since I started using Twitter seriously. Trend?

  3. vinnythemarv Says:

    IF you remembered my group’s presentation on Xiaonei, China’s Facebook, we did mention that it already had IM features, and it looks exactly like the one posted on facebook’s blog. Tit for tat I guess.

  4. Twitter’s Strength Is In That It’s Like mIRC, Doesn’t Mean It Should Be Used Like It « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] A couple of us tried it yesterday and it works pretty well! I do think we’re going to end up full circle in terms of chat and instant messaging, so I’m up for a test drive […]

  5. Facebook Chat: First Impressions « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] was excited to get on Facebook chat because the number of people on Facebook means it’s a great way to […]

Leave a Reply

