Quick Thoughts On The IDC Panel Discussion, And I Want Yours Too.

Haven’t had time to really get online after the IDC Conference, because of a night out with my two closest friends Rubin and Reuben with some grown up talk (jobs and marriage). But I really wanted to squeeze out a real quick post on today’s IDC Panel discussion and give you a sense of what I’ll be talking about over the next couple of days.

First, a big thank you to @litford, @byzantin3 and @ridz84 for watching the live webcast and sending me nice messages on Twitter. I’m sorry I didn’t reply because I switched off Twitter on my phone for the day. Didn’t want to be distracted while on stage. Again, thank you for taking 45 minutes off your busy lives to hear what I had to say!

Second, an even bigger thank you to Geek Goddess Estee for coming down in person to support me there and for passing me a book on New Media. Can’t wait to read it!

I’m going to mention @litford twice because he has a recap of the topics and questions and answers on his blog as well as posting the live feed. If you missed it, check out the discussion over there.

Next, I have 5 points that I’m going to blog about in detail over the next few days, but I want to throw them out here first.

1) Advertising and blogging.

Again, Brian has talked about this in his thoughts from the panel. I was listening to a podcast on the way home and coincidentally it serves as a great case study for how to do advertising/sponsorship in the blogosphere. It’s a North American example, but I think it applies pretty well.

2) On Gen Y not reading the newspapers.

MediaSlut as always has started a very good conversation about how this may be worrying. I was told from Debbie that @ridz84 agreed on the live chat with me that most of us don’t read the papers, and before I respond to MediaSlut, I’d like to take a straw poll just to give an indication if I am guilty of a gross generalisation, or if there’s some truth to it.

3) Trust.

I think this came up as a common underlying thread between all the panelists. How important is trust between you and a blogger? Does it even matter? Or is it just another one of the many, many fragmented voices online and there’s no differentiation?

4) Relationships.

I had the great fortune of meeting two brilliant people from HP who I could share my huge enthusiasm for Snapfish with as well as talk about the HP Mini-Note a little bit. Very smart people who definitely realise the value of engaging in this space and meeting them in person convinced me that they’re not just doing it because someone at corporate or their PR company said to do so. From talking to them I could tell that they truly believed it was a worthwhile endeavor and that’s the reason why they are doing it.

At the same time I had a couple of crappy experiences today too which I’m not sure I want to talk about in detail, but at the very least I will mention vaguely.

5) Corporate Interest.

I am genuinely, genuinely curious about whether companies are interested in social media/new media/web2.0/whatever as an option right now, (which is already too late). Or if they think this is going to be another fad that will pass through in a year. The reason why I ask this is because I think one big issue, corporate blogging, was brought up today, but it didn’t seem to generate much discussion after the panel. The other thing which is a smaller issue, was that we ended the panel on a note about microblogging, specifically Twitter. I’m sure companies in the audience could benefit from such a quick-action response mechanism, but again I’m not sure that was a conversation that was going on after the panel.

I just want to say I don’t mention #5 because I think they should be talking to me about these issues. I don’t claim to be the best person for them to talk to because after all, I’m still a student observing all of this from the comfort of the university. But is this conversation happening at all?

All in all, today was really great for me. I would’ve liked to have heard some questions from the floor and hear some of the real questions and concerns that companies have when thinking about engaging in this new space that is changing so rapidly, but unfortunately we didn’t have enough time. Was probably good that they timed us though because I think we could’ve gone on till tomorrow with no problem at all.

Well those are my quick thoughts on today’s discussion. If you have any please feel free to chime at the comments below, or if you like, drop me an email at uniquefrequency[AT]gmail[DOT]com.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Quick Thoughts On The IDC Panel Discussion, And I Want Yours Too.”

  1. Blogger-Journalist Relationships - We’re People Too Dammit. « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] Unique-Frequency Eyes & Ears on Media – Are You Tuned In? « Quick Thoughts On The IDC Panel Discussion, And I Want Yours Too. […]

  2. Ridz Says:

    Hey,
    yeah. I’m not sure what you heard from debbie but just so the response is clearer, I do think there’s increasingly less need for those of us who are so highly connected to read the newspaper. Firstly, I see the headlines of Straits Times delivered via feeds and those get to me, sometimes, one night in advance. ( 1 point for my feeds list )

    If that’s not enough, major international stories usually get reported from elsewhere first. So my subscribed list of feeds bring me news before my own local newspaper agency even pushes it out on their feed. ( 1 more for relying on my feeds list )

    And here’s the cool thing when twitter comes into the picture. If a person is following the right people, you get news as it happens. You can actually watch how news moves from ‘news twittering’ to it evolving into ‘blog posts’ and then into ‘news feeds’ and eventually landing itself in the print version of newspapers.

    Of course to rely on twitter one would have to be really hardcore. So just reading feeds(which is like meeting in the middle) is a pretty good way of doing things. As for newspapers, I catch up on the straits times(my family has it delivered every morning), I read a week’s worth of local news on weekends just to see what I may have missed that not on the feeds – usually unimportant stuff like Li Jia Wei’s breakup and stuff like that…haha

  3. Buny Says:

    Regarding advertising, bloggers need to hit it BIG before decent advertising dollars come in. Big sites use FM, Big indiviaduals get direct sponsors while the rest of us get Adsense.

    When it comes to blogging, it’s always passion first whether or not you’re being paid to blog.

    In Singapore, I can say no blog advertising company has done it right at the moment.

  4. Dan McHugh Says:

    Daryl, first of all kudos on how you handled yourself at the IDC event. I thought you did a good job of explaining your points of view and clearly you have some interesting takes that some of the older viewers (hey and I’m only 31!) could take away from listening to the panel.

    My thoughts on the panel:

    Firtsly, I thought the panel tended to focus on the advertising/sponsorship/trust debate a little too much. Obviously there is differences between someone who is running a blog as a business or a vehicle for adding credibility to another portion of thier professional or personal life.

    Definietly would have enjoyed a bit of action from the crowd with regards to questions. I think the audience (being IT vendors in the main) would have enjoyed quizzing the panel on what corporations can do to communicate more effectively to online audiences.

    On the topic of trust and blogging ethics I have to admit, I’m a bit old school on this topic so I might be out of date. For me, your reputation and the trust you gain online is built 100% on your ethics (good or bad). I thought Kenny’s comments were pretty nieve, but I looked on his site and it’s a bit more gossipy so maybe that’s the reason for his position.

    This would come down to your audience. If they value a transparent conversation, they’ll want to know who you work for, any biases you may have or any advertising/sponsorship deals you have. Google Adsence is a great way of getting funds, while being removed from the advertising on your site.

    To answer your question, I think companies are looking at web 2.0 in a big way. You only have to look at the valuation Facebook has gotten as a result of it’s audience base. Leveraging that with an advertising engine as they have with Facebook Platform is the next logical step. As a marketer I can tell you that one-to-one marketing is the dream of any company. Saves having to put out broad campaigns that can miss the people you want. Web 2.0 makes it easier to identify the audiences you want to engage with (tags, relationships, etc all make this possible)

    Enough of my rambling though. Congrats on your efforts last Friday and look forward to reading your blog some more in the future.

  5. Daryl Tay Says:

    Dan, thank you for dropping by and thanks for the kind words. I like your approach of web2.0 to marketing with tags, relationships etc. I think that’s exactly the end-goal of this new space: communication and understanding. I’m glad and excited that you see it this way, and wish more companies did too!

  6. Which Companies Should Be Interested In Social Media? « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] Companies Should Be Interested In Social Media? Final point from my post-IDC Conference thoughts: Are companies interested in social media? If yes, are there some companies who are better suited […]

  7. Why Students Should Blog - A Few Pointers « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] it I’ve gotten an invitation to advise a company on internal/external blogging, to be a panelist at a conference that costs $680 to attend and three internships. (Full disclosure: I couldn’t take up two of […]

Leave a Reply

