How Was Your Read And Comment Day?

What Read And Comment Day?

Yesterday was Read and Comment day, where you have to make an active effort to comment on blogs and join the conversation. It was suggested by Chris Brogan, and true to form, he even left a comment here as well. Read and Comment day also inspired me to encourage people to strengthen their links to people on Twitter, especially the weaker links.

My Report

I put aside an hour last night to really go through my Google Reader (learnt how to use it yet?) and properly digest blog posts and comment. In a lot of ways, it reminded me of when I first started blogging in January when Prof. Netley advised us that we should comment twice as much as we post to establish a presence and drive traffic. I’m a little embarrassed to say that I forgot that along the way, but Read and Comment day really reminded me how important it is not just to create my own content by blogging, but to add value to others’ content as well.

How About You?

Have you found yourself commenting less than usual? Something holding you back from joining the conversation? Go post a couple of comments today. You’ll feel great!

My Conversations

All great topics, especially if you’re into social media. Why not read and comment on them (or right here) yourself?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “How Was Your Read And Comment Day?”

  1. Jason Falls Says:

    I loved reading this because of all the great links, some of which I missed. Thanks for including me in your finds. I appreciate you reading and commenting. Good stuff!

  2. Colin Walker Says:

    Mine was great and it meant getting out there and really thinking about what I was reading – but then the blogosphere makes it easy as a lot of people are writing some great posts.

    And now, because of this post ‘about’ Read and Comment day I’ve now stumble across your blog and subscribed to your feed.

  3. Daryl Tay Says:

    @Jason: Happy to help you keep up! Really great stuff out yesterday, all worth subscribing to!

    @Colin: I really identify with thinking about what you’re reading. Too often I find myself just scanning and closing the window when there’s much more to add if I’d take an added 2 minutes to read it. I’ve subscribed to your feed as well =)

Leave a Reply

