Twitter Customer Service Case Study: Firefox

I’ve only been using Firefox for two months and made the change primarily because of it’s enhanced security and great plugins. Somewhere along the way, being the sometimes-technologically-challenged person I am, I changed a setting that caused my downloaded files to be saved when I wanted them to be opened.

So of course, I turned to Twitter:

And got a reply back very quickly from @firefox_answers:

And I was amazed. Firefox has two things going for it: great product and great customer service. Not going to go into the debate of which is better, but it’s important to have both.

Before you start thinking “Sure, great for companies like Firefox or Microsoft whose users are right in front of Twitter”, but what if your company could jump in and respond to these questions?

  • I wonder what’s good on tv tonight
  • Why does my [insert brand] printer keep printing it’s test page?
  • What should I get for mother’s day

The list goes on. There’s some commentary on how the vast majority of Twitter users talk about frivolous things. That may annoy some, but to companies, it’s an opportunity to jump in, join the conversation and make a positive difference the same way Firefox did for me today.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Twitter Customer Service Case Study: Firefox”

  1. krisandro Says:

    WOW! They actually respond to twitters. I am very impressed!

  2. Jacques Says:

    I have just downloaded the latest version of Firfox, and I have the following 2 problems:
    1. from Foxmarks setup wizard: Initial synchronization:
    Status unauthorized
    And I can only continue, that keeps showing the same window, or GO Back,
    that gets me back to the same window
    How can I get back to a window that will allow me to put my correct password?
    2. Now when I double-click on an e-mail, the e-mail does not open a new window;
    I have to right click and select open. How can I get back to where I was before
    updating?
    Thanks,
    Jacques

  3. 7 Impressive Twitter Customer Service/Brand Management Cases | CHROMATIC Says:

    […] FireFox: A user of the FireFox browser changed a setting that resulted in an undesirable result. A FireFox representative quickly provided a fix via Twitter and saved the day. […]

  4.   7 Impressive Twitter Customer Service/Brand Management Cases — instantwebmeetings.com - Internet Video Collaboration, emeetings, E Learning with internet video classes, Internet Video Meeting Rooms - Instantwebmeetings : Austria &am Says:

    […] FireFox: A user of the FireFox browser changed a setting that resulted in an undesirable result. A FireFox representative quickly provided a fix via Twitter and saved the day. […]

  5. Encouraging Clients to Twitter : Cotton Rohrscheib Says:

    […] FireFox: A user of the FireFox browser changed a setting that resulted in an undesirable result. A FireFox representative quickly provided a fix via Twitter and saved the day. […]

Leave a Reply

