Do You Really Know Who You’re Following On Twitter?

I’m in the midst of revising my Twitter guides and got a little inspired by Chris Brogan’s “Reading and Commenting” day (which is tomorrow, by the way).

How many people do you follow on Twitter? How many of them do you actually know? Do you know what their interests, passions and niches are? When was the last time you sent them something meaningful or of value, instead of the usual noise?

So here’s what I’m proposing: This week during your small pockets of time, go through the list of people you’re following and figure out how you can add value as a Twitter friend. Maybe it’s commenting on their blog, subscribing to their blog, or sending them a link relevant to them.

Because really, at the end of the day it’s not how many people you follow, but your relationships with them.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Do You Really Know Who You’re Following On Twitter?”

  1. sylv Says:

    i know people i follow on twitter but i don’t know people that follow me. sometimes it bothers me =/

  2. chrisbrogan Says:

    Oddly, Twitter keeps bringing me into situations where I meet virtual people in realspace. It happens all the time, so I’m excited about that. : )

  3. Daryl Tay Says:

    @Sylv: I know what you mean! That’s totally what this exercise is for! I’m sure most of the people who follow us seemingly randomly have a reason. Time to find out what that reason is and work on it!

    @Chrisbrogan: That has happened to me a couple of times too! Thanks for dropping by =)

  4. How Was Your Read And Comment Day? « Unique-Frequency Says:

    […] he even left a comment here as well. Read and Comment day also inspired me to encourage people to strengthen their links to people on Twitter, especially the weaker […]

  5. sylv Says:

    ya i know what their reason is… to add me to their list of thousands followers and then hope that I’ll follow them back as a courtesy and then they’ll twit about internet marketing shit and what-nots.

    I had an experiment to @reply those ppl and nobody replied. Well, only 2 out of about 10.

    and to add it.. I hate @replies. I mean excessive @replies. Those ones whose twits are merely @replies to people. Eeks.

  6. Daryl Tay Says:

    Yes definitely. I think it has to be about meaningful relationships with value, and not about the numbers! I do @reply alot to people though, especially those in SMU =)

Leave a comment